Oh. My. Goddess.

You're a Goddess ("And you're a slayer") DressingSo you know the best thing ever? Friends who casually send you stuff they found in their garage that they’re no longer using.

Take, for example, our Vitamix – yes, a freaking Vitamix – courtesy of one spectacular pal, Grace. (A million thanks for that one, it seriously comes in handy.)

What will I ever do with this Vitamix? Wait… a bagillion things. Not to sound like a 4am infomercial, but I can now: make my own almond milk, blend soups, go raw for a week, give my poor juicer a break, or make some dazzling vegan dressings for my homegirl who just re-gave up dairy. (She’s whoopin’ my tuches on the vegan front.)

I found this recipe from the Oh She Glows blog – and she does!

IMG_1763 2

  • 1 garlic clovephoto
  • 1 cup packed avocado flesh (2 small)
  • 7-8 tbsp water
  • 5 tbsp apple cider vinegar*
  • 3-4 tbsp fresh lemon juice, to taste
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 cup packed fresh basil leaves
  • 1/2 cup packed fresh parsleyphoto 2
  • 1/2 cup packed green onion (dark green part only, not white)
  • 1 tsp kosher salt, or to taste
  • Pinch of cayenne (optional)
  • Touch of honey and/or agave

As per usual, I futzed around with it. I used whatever basil and parsley we had in our window garden (pictures coming soon!) – which didn’t quite add up to a cup’s worth of each. Used a regular onion because I was strangely out of scallions, replaced cayenne for black pepper, and faked it with little of this/little of that-ing.

photo

All in all it came out delicious and springy and ready to smother on everything.You're a Goddess Dressing

tumblr_ljv16g4Qph1qa1vu6P.S. Evan’s contribution to said experiment: “Way to nerd out on salad duty.”

One thought on “Oh. My. Goddess.

  1. Pingback: Window Garden 2014 | Farmin' Cityfolk

Leave a comment